Our Little Corner of the 'Net

Girls chatting about "Girls." And by girls we mean Evie and Erin. And by "Girls" we mean Lorelai and Rory. And everyone they meet. Even the ones who are not actually girls, like Luke. But Erin and Evie are just girls. Got it?

Monday, October 11, 2004

Gilmore Girls beats American Dreams hands down!

Okay, so my posts aren't going to be as long or detailed as Erin's so I will just add to Erin's, :P.

Yes! Palladino must die! They were so close. Wasn't it wierd how Rory just KNEW about Lorelai and Luke, and they never told us this? It bugs me. A lot. Also, Rory saying sorry to Lorelai was too much. It was just like, THERE. That would have been ok, but they would have had to make Lorelai have more of a reaction. Not while on the phone with Rory, of course, but she could have had one of her biting-her-lip smiles, or a little tear in her eyes smile after. But no, nothing. That bugged me.

Does anyone else think that Sookie's baby needs to be on WAAY more, like AT ALL. That storyline kind of, left. Wierd. They need some sort of Sookie story. Beyond as a javajunkie. Or I'll be mad. I love Sookie. And Jackson. I want my produce guy back!

And I have news of Milo Ventimiglia! If you were like me, you were wondering if he is coming back ever. Well, it looks like not for awhile, as he is now on American Dreams! And guess what. He had the EXACT SAME CHARACTER. I'm serious. If you have ever watched this show, Meg is a good catholic hirl from a good catholic family in the fifties (she's starting to rebel because of the war, but moving on). Milo is the son of a Playboy Playmate supervisor who moves in next door. And yes, Mag is being tempeted by him. I know. SAME CHARACTER.

Ooooh... The mom standoff. I totally know where both of them are coming from, but Lorelai needed to say more that BACK OFF!. She had many opportunities. I think she could have said somehting more. To make Linsay understand. I still maintain I like Linsday.

Finally, I loved the Renfair storyline! There wasn't enough. To bad. I loved the gossip! The random people huzzahing was inspired! My favourite part, hands down. HUZZAH!

5.2: "A Messenger, Nothing More"

Monday, October 04, 2004

Huzzah!

Ha. Normally this would be a Triple Post of Extreme Doom, but there are only two people on this blog, so it's not.
Here's the scoop: Evie lives in Canada, and the problem with this is that the Girls are not simulcast in Canada. So, for a while at least, she's going to be a week behind me. This won't be a huge problem, however. I'll just wait until she's posted for the last episode to post about the new episode, and it will all work out.
So, since it's Monday now, I figure I'd better hurry up and post about last Tuesday, before it's the new Tuesday. These comments won't be as detailed, because I only got to watch the episode once. But I did just read the TWOP recap, so I remember what happens and I won't let it influence my opinions.
First thing's first: Daniel Palladino must SUFFER! They almost kissed! They were inches away from kissing! For the first time since "Raincoats and Recipes!" But did they? NO! You know why? Because of a PARADE! That's right, a Cider Mill Parade, complete with a band and dancing apples. It would have been much better if they were actually kissing when they had heard the imminent approach of the parade and leapt apart. Oh, that town. It was a cute scene, though. I love Luke and Lorelai. Don't know if I've mentioned that.
Lorelai and the Dragonfly: Ha. I suppose this is what happens to Lorelai when she's alone for the first time in her life. She gets crazy-anal. In the first scene, I observed that she was scaring the maids like Emily, and in the very next scene of that plot, Sookie said the exact same thing. HA! CALLED IT!
Rory and Emily's European Adventure: That was cool. Although, sadly, why did it take me three mentions of Bark and Cheese to actually get that joke? It's because of the barking dog. And the mistakenly ordered cheese. Which I can totally relate to Rory on, by the way, because I'm always afraid of coming off as an ugly American with foreign people, and I've never sent something back when I've gotten the wrong order. I can't believe it took that girl seven weeks in Europe to realize she'd made a mistake. But I loved how relieved Lorelai was when she finally started talking. Oh, and that movie at the end? Perfection. That girl even looked a little like Rory.
RenFaire Luke: Nice. Although it got old rather quickly. It was like, "Look! It's Luke at the Ren Faire! Haha!" and as soon as that was over, I wanted him to leave. I appreciated the phone conversation between Luke and Lorelai both for the cuteness and because this way we know that they've been talking all the time, and she somehow coerced him into dishing the Ren Faire gossip, which is great. I thought it was so sweet that he bought her a necklace before he left. Luke, who had never bought a girl flowers before "R&R." Aww. And Liz. "It's Lorelai! Huzzah!" TJ: "Huzzah!" Random RenFaire People: "Huzzah!" Best moment of the episode, and Pamie agrees with me. She even agrees with me that it was very Monty Python-esque. I also noticed that Liz seemed as happy as Sookie that Luke and Lorelai are not going to die alone. Well, one of them might, unless they die at the exact same time. But somebody's getting to the morgue before they smell, dammit. Liz is a javajunkie too. :)
Michel: I enjoyed this plot, if only because it allowed Michel to be so very, very French. "I belong to the Union of Oppressed Frenchmen." "Ah, the UOF." And the hide and seek thing, and the dam(n) thing (good Mom catch, Lor). "Who wants to play an insipid board game?" "I want to play an insipid board game!" Yay! In a side note, Lorelai said she hates kids. I'm going to mark that off to a bad mood and fighting with Rory, because she's good with kids. See "The Hobbit, the Sofa, and Digger Stiles."
Lane: Yeah, okay. Whatever. Zack? If you want. I miss Dave. Come back from The OC, Dave! Also, Rory sent her postcards! That was almost acting like an actual friend! Wow! Big step!
Dean: I give up. I don't understand Dean anymore. I don't even much care how his hair looks. He's acting like a jerk to everybody. If you're going to jeopardize your marriage, you ought to really consider BEFOREHAND that the girl you're jeopardizing it with dumped you and treated you like crap. Don't sleep with her and then treat her like crap. Unless this is all some elaborate plan for revenge. I wouldn't put it past Dean at this point, because I really don't get him. Not surprisingly, Lindsay's not very articulate when she's mad: "I HATE YOU! I HATE ALL OF THIS (stuff that she's throwing out the window)! I HATE YOU, DEAN!" Kudos to Alexis Bledel in this plot. I loved how the minute Sookie started talking about the fight, she looked like she was about to throw up. And she was very good and emotive in the scene after the big Mom Confrontation. It was a good letter. Too bad. Don't sleep with married men. As for the big Mom Confrontation itself: I liked it. Both moms were acting very mom-like. If it was me in either position, I think my mom would act in pretty much the same way (can't say for sure, especially since she's probably going to read this). Although, unlike Lindsay's mom, she would not react that way in the middle of the street (she told me that). There is such a thing as turning the other cheek. That was way inappropriate, I don't care how pissed you are. So, does all of Star Hollow know now? Ouch. I liked how protective Lorelai was. "Hey! Back off, lady!" Amen.
I loved the line "Bring on the Imperialistic condiments!" Also, the balloons that flew over Rory were symbolic of her innocence. Red balloons are always symbolic.
More Luke and Lorelai: Why didn't he call her the minute he got back in town? Seems unlike him. Unless he knew Rory was coming home and didn't want to mess with the mother/daughter thing. Oh, yeah. When did Lorelai tell Rory about her and Luke? Why didn't we get to see it? Whaaat? That's sad, guys. You totally needed to put that in, and it's a big loss. Much fanfiction will be written about it, you mark my words.

The next episode looks hilarious. I can't wait to watch it... twice.

5.2: "A Messenger, Nothing More"