Our Little Corner of the 'Net

Girls chatting about "Girls." And by girls we mean Evie and Erin. And by "Girls" we mean Lorelai and Rory. And everyone they meet. Even the ones who are not actually girls, like Luke. But Erin and Evie are just girls. Got it?

Wednesday, September 22, 2004

I'm just so damn happy!

These are my comments on "Say Goodbye to Daisy Miller." I'll probably forget some stuff, but oh well.

First: Rory and Dean. Oh, my. CuteDean doesn't live here anymore. This Dean is not nice at all. This Dean goes and sleeps with somebody else and then comes home and yells at his wife. ("WHY ARE YOU ANSWERING OTHER PEOPLE'S PHONES, BITCH??")Geez, maybe 'cause she's your wife and you LEFT YOUR PHONE AT HOME? I know it was because he felt guilty and all, but there is really no excuse for acting like that. Not when she's trying so hard to make things work. I felt really sorry for her in this episode, and this is coming from someone who hates Lindsay. Last season I criticized her for being a worthless complaining bitch. That still holds. But she does not deserve what Dean is doing to her. Did anyone else notice, when she made him the roast beef, the parallels to "That Damn Donna Reed" (season 1, ep. 13)? Geez. That wasn't the only thing about this plot that hearkened back to the first season. But I'll get to that in a moment. The first scene with Rory and Dean-- I made it no secret at the end of last season that I am seriously disappointed in Rory. And I wanted to be mad at that first scene (although it was a great use of the whole parallel time/ different viewpoint thing. "The textbook definition of a perfect moment"? No. That would have been if he wasn't married, dear. But then she was so damn cute doing her little "Candy Man" dance. Even though you know that that's only going to ruin that song for her forever, and she's never going to be able to watch Willy Wonka and pig out ever again. (Season 1, anyone? First "date," anyone?) And Dean was kinda acting like a stalker. I continue to be very disappointed in Rory, both for what she continued to do with Dean and the way she acted toward Lorelai. As for the "again with Dean," well... You had to get the irony. Miss Patty's Dance Studio. "Rory's Dance" (1.09). And her eloquent little monologue to Dean: "Yeah... Talk... Words... Wow." Arrrgh. So slutty, and so un-Rory. I agree that she needed to do something to shake herself free of that super-good-girl persona, but I can't believe she didn't come to her senses at some point in this episode. Although I suppose she may have... she is going to Europe without saying a word to him.

Lane!: It was Lane! I love Lane! I totally relate to the way she reacted. She wanted to be happy for Rory. And Rory seemed to want Lane to chew her out. She knew she was bad, she just didn't want to hear it from Lorelai. So Lane did the best that she could, she listened. I liked Rory's "Who would have thought Dean could even fit in my bed? It's so small. He's not small, he's tall!" And also Lane's reaction that Miss Patty would be so proud. And her whispering becaue, "I just think that, no matter where she is, my mom can hear this conversation." And I loved her with the band. This is what happens when you have a girl in the band, guys! And then they made the mistake of playing her drums. "Told you she'd be mad."

Lorelai and Rory: Rory was being such a brat. As a girl who has just moved away from her mother for any significant length of time for the first time, it really hurts me that she didn't even hug her mother goodbye at the airport. I could see how desperate Lorelai was to get anything out of her daughter. She coudln't approve of what Rory did, but she wanted so badly to talk to her. And Rory totally shut her out. So, even though Lorelai wanted to use Mother Mode, she switched to Best Friend Mode just to try to get in with her daughter. And it must have hurt her when it didn't work. I liked her, "You're nineteen, you can handle your own affairs. Sorry, bad choice of words."

Richard and Emily: Priceless, priceless, priceless. Kelly Bishop deserves Emmys. I like how we finally get to see how this whole thing has built up for her, resulting in this little explosion at Richard. And he really had no idea what was wrong prior to that, I think. Of course, the priceless exchange was "Only prostitutes drink two glasses of wine with lunch!" "Then give me a boa and drive me to Reno, because I am open for business!" And then the whole "I had better not catch you climbing out the window!" "I'm out the window! I'm out the window!" HA! Yes, ladies and gentlemen, if we ever had any doubt, this woman is Lorelai Gilmore's mother. She just pulled a Lorelai. And then... Emily Gilmore... in the front yard... without her skirt. Brilliance. Lovely work, both Kelly and Edward. I enjoy how fiercely Emily is throwing herself into this separation, although they are only separated by the pool. (Hee!) She's trying to be the woman about town and show Richard a thing or two. Very true to the character.

Townies: Awwww, little Davey is sooo cute! Awwww! Also cute: Pawpaw. Awwwww. Jackson and Michel made me laugh. They don't get enough scenes together. Lulu and Kirk are still adorable. I love the way they explained away Jason's absence. "His condo was on fire. ... Well, that's what Michel and I said when we called his cell phone." Yay! Bye, Digger! Don't let the door hit you in the ass, etc.

Luke and Lorelai: I have saved the best for last. I. Love. This. Couple. I just can't say enough. First, Lauren Graham's shirt was really pretty. I just have to get that out of the way. It really brought out her eyes. Heck, SHE was really pretty in this episode. Okay. Now on to real topics. Starting from the very first moments. The whole scene with Kirk was great. "LULU CAN'T SEE ME LIKE THIS!" "Okay... Can I look?" "Yes." "I don't want to look." Their faces! Wonderful! And then Kirk's "So I ran and they followed me, down the hall, down the stairs, through the doorway, past Luke and Lorelai kissing..." And that sheepish-happy look on Luke's face that just gave it all away! And then-- Sookie got to react like a fangirl! She squealed and screamed and hugged and said everything we've been thinking: "I am so glad! You two are perfect for each other! I always thought that one day you'd turn around and open your eyes..." Sookie is a Javajunkie! And her reaction about the lack of sex, on a table or otherwise. "He knows you're processing, but once you've processed, there's gonna be sex, right?" And her exclamations about not dying alone, finally leading to, "'Cause you two together..." "Means getting to the morgue before I smell, got it." And then the phone call. So sweet. Huddled in closets. Luke muttering about forgetting it if she wants to, and Lorelai not shying from it at all, but saying, "If one of us had been a frog, it would've had some seriously impressive consequences." And the lovely, lovely, "So you concur?" and most of all Luke's resonse: "Oh, God yes." I love that man. Love him like crazy. And he bought a cell phone for her! And he left her five messages! Wonderful, romantic, rambling messages. You could tell they made Lorelai feel better. And, in case anyone was wondering, it seems that Luke's cell phone number is 860-1984-2986. I could be wrong. But it's not a 555 number, which is surprising. I liked his, "Yeah, I'm a regular Lancelot." And then the, "That was a hell of a test run." And all the metaphorical giving it a second go. My heart was melting. Luke Danes loves Lorelai Gilmore! And I, like Sookie, could not be happier.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home