Our Little Corner of the 'Net

Girls chatting about "Girls." And by girls we mean Evie and Erin. And by "Girls" we mean Lorelai and Rory. And everyone they meet. Even the ones who are not actually girls, like Luke. But Erin and Evie are just girls. Got it?

Monday, October 11, 2004

Gilmore Girls beats American Dreams hands down!

Okay, so my posts aren't going to be as long or detailed as Erin's so I will just add to Erin's, :P.

Yes! Palladino must die! They were so close. Wasn't it wierd how Rory just KNEW about Lorelai and Luke, and they never told us this? It bugs me. A lot. Also, Rory saying sorry to Lorelai was too much. It was just like, THERE. That would have been ok, but they would have had to make Lorelai have more of a reaction. Not while on the phone with Rory, of course, but she could have had one of her biting-her-lip smiles, or a little tear in her eyes smile after. But no, nothing. That bugged me.

Does anyone else think that Sookie's baby needs to be on WAAY more, like AT ALL. That storyline kind of, left. Wierd. They need some sort of Sookie story. Beyond as a javajunkie. Or I'll be mad. I love Sookie. And Jackson. I want my produce guy back!

And I have news of Milo Ventimiglia! If you were like me, you were wondering if he is coming back ever. Well, it looks like not for awhile, as he is now on American Dreams! And guess what. He had the EXACT SAME CHARACTER. I'm serious. If you have ever watched this show, Meg is a good catholic hirl from a good catholic family in the fifties (she's starting to rebel because of the war, but moving on). Milo is the son of a Playboy Playmate supervisor who moves in next door. And yes, Mag is being tempeted by him. I know. SAME CHARACTER.

Ooooh... The mom standoff. I totally know where both of them are coming from, but Lorelai needed to say more that BACK OFF!. She had many opportunities. I think she could have said somehting more. To make Linsay understand. I still maintain I like Linsday.

Finally, I loved the Renfair storyline! There wasn't enough. To bad. I loved the gossip! The random people huzzahing was inspired! My favourite part, hands down. HUZZAH!

5.2: "A Messenger, Nothing More"

Monday, October 04, 2004

Huzzah!

Ha. Normally this would be a Triple Post of Extreme Doom, but there are only two people on this blog, so it's not.
Here's the scoop: Evie lives in Canada, and the problem with this is that the Girls are not simulcast in Canada. So, for a while at least, she's going to be a week behind me. This won't be a huge problem, however. I'll just wait until she's posted for the last episode to post about the new episode, and it will all work out.
So, since it's Monday now, I figure I'd better hurry up and post about last Tuesday, before it's the new Tuesday. These comments won't be as detailed, because I only got to watch the episode once. But I did just read the TWOP recap, so I remember what happens and I won't let it influence my opinions.
First thing's first: Daniel Palladino must SUFFER! They almost kissed! They were inches away from kissing! For the first time since "Raincoats and Recipes!" But did they? NO! You know why? Because of a PARADE! That's right, a Cider Mill Parade, complete with a band and dancing apples. It would have been much better if they were actually kissing when they had heard the imminent approach of the parade and leapt apart. Oh, that town. It was a cute scene, though. I love Luke and Lorelai. Don't know if I've mentioned that.
Lorelai and the Dragonfly: Ha. I suppose this is what happens to Lorelai when she's alone for the first time in her life. She gets crazy-anal. In the first scene, I observed that she was scaring the maids like Emily, and in the very next scene of that plot, Sookie said the exact same thing. HA! CALLED IT!
Rory and Emily's European Adventure: That was cool. Although, sadly, why did it take me three mentions of Bark and Cheese to actually get that joke? It's because of the barking dog. And the mistakenly ordered cheese. Which I can totally relate to Rory on, by the way, because I'm always afraid of coming off as an ugly American with foreign people, and I've never sent something back when I've gotten the wrong order. I can't believe it took that girl seven weeks in Europe to realize she'd made a mistake. But I loved how relieved Lorelai was when she finally started talking. Oh, and that movie at the end? Perfection. That girl even looked a little like Rory.
RenFaire Luke: Nice. Although it got old rather quickly. It was like, "Look! It's Luke at the Ren Faire! Haha!" and as soon as that was over, I wanted him to leave. I appreciated the phone conversation between Luke and Lorelai both for the cuteness and because this way we know that they've been talking all the time, and she somehow coerced him into dishing the Ren Faire gossip, which is great. I thought it was so sweet that he bought her a necklace before he left. Luke, who had never bought a girl flowers before "R&R." Aww. And Liz. "It's Lorelai! Huzzah!" TJ: "Huzzah!" Random RenFaire People: "Huzzah!" Best moment of the episode, and Pamie agrees with me. She even agrees with me that it was very Monty Python-esque. I also noticed that Liz seemed as happy as Sookie that Luke and Lorelai are not going to die alone. Well, one of them might, unless they die at the exact same time. But somebody's getting to the morgue before they smell, dammit. Liz is a javajunkie too. :)
Michel: I enjoyed this plot, if only because it allowed Michel to be so very, very French. "I belong to the Union of Oppressed Frenchmen." "Ah, the UOF." And the hide and seek thing, and the dam(n) thing (good Mom catch, Lor). "Who wants to play an insipid board game?" "I want to play an insipid board game!" Yay! In a side note, Lorelai said she hates kids. I'm going to mark that off to a bad mood and fighting with Rory, because she's good with kids. See "The Hobbit, the Sofa, and Digger Stiles."
Lane: Yeah, okay. Whatever. Zack? If you want. I miss Dave. Come back from The OC, Dave! Also, Rory sent her postcards! That was almost acting like an actual friend! Wow! Big step!
Dean: I give up. I don't understand Dean anymore. I don't even much care how his hair looks. He's acting like a jerk to everybody. If you're going to jeopardize your marriage, you ought to really consider BEFOREHAND that the girl you're jeopardizing it with dumped you and treated you like crap. Don't sleep with her and then treat her like crap. Unless this is all some elaborate plan for revenge. I wouldn't put it past Dean at this point, because I really don't get him. Not surprisingly, Lindsay's not very articulate when she's mad: "I HATE YOU! I HATE ALL OF THIS (stuff that she's throwing out the window)! I HATE YOU, DEAN!" Kudos to Alexis Bledel in this plot. I loved how the minute Sookie started talking about the fight, she looked like she was about to throw up. And she was very good and emotive in the scene after the big Mom Confrontation. It was a good letter. Too bad. Don't sleep with married men. As for the big Mom Confrontation itself: I liked it. Both moms were acting very mom-like. If it was me in either position, I think my mom would act in pretty much the same way (can't say for sure, especially since she's probably going to read this). Although, unlike Lindsay's mom, she would not react that way in the middle of the street (she told me that). There is such a thing as turning the other cheek. That was way inappropriate, I don't care how pissed you are. So, does all of Star Hollow know now? Ouch. I liked how protective Lorelai was. "Hey! Back off, lady!" Amen.
I loved the line "Bring on the Imperialistic condiments!" Also, the balloons that flew over Rory were symbolic of her innocence. Red balloons are always symbolic.
More Luke and Lorelai: Why didn't he call her the minute he got back in town? Seems unlike him. Unless he knew Rory was coming home and didn't want to mess with the mother/daughter thing. Oh, yeah. When did Lorelai tell Rory about her and Luke? Why didn't we get to see it? Whaaat? That's sad, guys. You totally needed to put that in, and it's a big loss. Much fanfiction will be written about it, you mark my words.

The next episode looks hilarious. I can't wait to watch it... twice.

5.2: "A Messenger, Nothing More"

Tuesday, September 28, 2004

Messenger...

Okay. I've added a description, and the template at the bottom is there to show what episode we're talking about. Cool?
"A Messenger, Nothing More" is on tonight for me, won't post about it till tomorrow. And I might only get to watch it once, too! :(

5.2: "A Messenger, Nothing More"

Wednesday, September 22, 2004

I'm just so damn happy!

These are my comments on "Say Goodbye to Daisy Miller." I'll probably forget some stuff, but oh well.

First: Rory and Dean. Oh, my. CuteDean doesn't live here anymore. This Dean is not nice at all. This Dean goes and sleeps with somebody else and then comes home and yells at his wife. ("WHY ARE YOU ANSWERING OTHER PEOPLE'S PHONES, BITCH??")Geez, maybe 'cause she's your wife and you LEFT YOUR PHONE AT HOME? I know it was because he felt guilty and all, but there is really no excuse for acting like that. Not when she's trying so hard to make things work. I felt really sorry for her in this episode, and this is coming from someone who hates Lindsay. Last season I criticized her for being a worthless complaining bitch. That still holds. But she does not deserve what Dean is doing to her. Did anyone else notice, when she made him the roast beef, the parallels to "That Damn Donna Reed" (season 1, ep. 13)? Geez. That wasn't the only thing about this plot that hearkened back to the first season. But I'll get to that in a moment. The first scene with Rory and Dean-- I made it no secret at the end of last season that I am seriously disappointed in Rory. And I wanted to be mad at that first scene (although it was a great use of the whole parallel time/ different viewpoint thing. "The textbook definition of a perfect moment"? No. That would have been if he wasn't married, dear. But then she was so damn cute doing her little "Candy Man" dance. Even though you know that that's only going to ruin that song for her forever, and she's never going to be able to watch Willy Wonka and pig out ever again. (Season 1, anyone? First "date," anyone?) And Dean was kinda acting like a stalker. I continue to be very disappointed in Rory, both for what she continued to do with Dean and the way she acted toward Lorelai. As for the "again with Dean," well... You had to get the irony. Miss Patty's Dance Studio. "Rory's Dance" (1.09). And her eloquent little monologue to Dean: "Yeah... Talk... Words... Wow." Arrrgh. So slutty, and so un-Rory. I agree that she needed to do something to shake herself free of that super-good-girl persona, but I can't believe she didn't come to her senses at some point in this episode. Although I suppose she may have... she is going to Europe without saying a word to him.

Lane!: It was Lane! I love Lane! I totally relate to the way she reacted. She wanted to be happy for Rory. And Rory seemed to want Lane to chew her out. She knew she was bad, she just didn't want to hear it from Lorelai. So Lane did the best that she could, she listened. I liked Rory's "Who would have thought Dean could even fit in my bed? It's so small. He's not small, he's tall!" And also Lane's reaction that Miss Patty would be so proud. And her whispering becaue, "I just think that, no matter where she is, my mom can hear this conversation." And I loved her with the band. This is what happens when you have a girl in the band, guys! And then they made the mistake of playing her drums. "Told you she'd be mad."

Lorelai and Rory: Rory was being such a brat. As a girl who has just moved away from her mother for any significant length of time for the first time, it really hurts me that she didn't even hug her mother goodbye at the airport. I could see how desperate Lorelai was to get anything out of her daughter. She coudln't approve of what Rory did, but she wanted so badly to talk to her. And Rory totally shut her out. So, even though Lorelai wanted to use Mother Mode, she switched to Best Friend Mode just to try to get in with her daughter. And it must have hurt her when it didn't work. I liked her, "You're nineteen, you can handle your own affairs. Sorry, bad choice of words."

Richard and Emily: Priceless, priceless, priceless. Kelly Bishop deserves Emmys. I like how we finally get to see how this whole thing has built up for her, resulting in this little explosion at Richard. And he really had no idea what was wrong prior to that, I think. Of course, the priceless exchange was "Only prostitutes drink two glasses of wine with lunch!" "Then give me a boa and drive me to Reno, because I am open for business!" And then the whole "I had better not catch you climbing out the window!" "I'm out the window! I'm out the window!" HA! Yes, ladies and gentlemen, if we ever had any doubt, this woman is Lorelai Gilmore's mother. She just pulled a Lorelai. And then... Emily Gilmore... in the front yard... without her skirt. Brilliance. Lovely work, both Kelly and Edward. I enjoy how fiercely Emily is throwing herself into this separation, although they are only separated by the pool. (Hee!) She's trying to be the woman about town and show Richard a thing or two. Very true to the character.

Townies: Awwww, little Davey is sooo cute! Awwww! Also cute: Pawpaw. Awwwww. Jackson and Michel made me laugh. They don't get enough scenes together. Lulu and Kirk are still adorable. I love the way they explained away Jason's absence. "His condo was on fire. ... Well, that's what Michel and I said when we called his cell phone." Yay! Bye, Digger! Don't let the door hit you in the ass, etc.

Luke and Lorelai: I have saved the best for last. I. Love. This. Couple. I just can't say enough. First, Lauren Graham's shirt was really pretty. I just have to get that out of the way. It really brought out her eyes. Heck, SHE was really pretty in this episode. Okay. Now on to real topics. Starting from the very first moments. The whole scene with Kirk was great. "LULU CAN'T SEE ME LIKE THIS!" "Okay... Can I look?" "Yes." "I don't want to look." Their faces! Wonderful! And then Kirk's "So I ran and they followed me, down the hall, down the stairs, through the doorway, past Luke and Lorelai kissing..." And that sheepish-happy look on Luke's face that just gave it all away! And then-- Sookie got to react like a fangirl! She squealed and screamed and hugged and said everything we've been thinking: "I am so glad! You two are perfect for each other! I always thought that one day you'd turn around and open your eyes..." Sookie is a Javajunkie! And her reaction about the lack of sex, on a table or otherwise. "He knows you're processing, but once you've processed, there's gonna be sex, right?" And her exclamations about not dying alone, finally leading to, "'Cause you two together..." "Means getting to the morgue before I smell, got it." And then the phone call. So sweet. Huddled in closets. Luke muttering about forgetting it if she wants to, and Lorelai not shying from it at all, but saying, "If one of us had been a frog, it would've had some seriously impressive consequences." And the lovely, lovely, "So you concur?" and most of all Luke's resonse: "Oh, God yes." I love that man. Love him like crazy. And he bought a cell phone for her! And he left her five messages! Wonderful, romantic, rambling messages. You could tell they made Lorelai feel better. And, in case anyone was wondering, it seems that Luke's cell phone number is 860-1984-2986. I could be wrong. But it's not a 555 number, which is surprising. I liked his, "Yeah, I'm a regular Lancelot." And then the, "That was a hell of a test run." And all the metaphorical giving it a second go. My heart was melting. Luke Danes loves Lorelai Gilmore! And I, like Sookie, could not be happier.

Goodness...

Ok, first, let me say that I loved Rory's wardrobe in this episode. I think it was superb. Especially the last scene. The collar shirt with the sweater over and the skirt was so cool! I loved it. Also, she is depressingly thin, but , whatever.

Ok first, Lorelai and Luke are the cutest couple this show has ever seen! They work so well. I have been waiting for this for so long. Picture me doing the Sookie dancing around and squealing. Yeah.

Ok, am I the only one who finds it wierd that Rory did not stop this whole sex-with-Dean-thing before? Somehow, I think that Rory's brain would have said, HELLO! should I be doing this??? sometime around the end of last season's finale. Never would I have thought Rory would ever do it AGAIN in Patty's Barn! I think that is very NOT Rory. She would have stopped kissing Dean, and said what she wanted to say and then it would have unfolded that way, not the other way.

I have to say, I like Lindsay. A lot. I think she's adorable. She and Dean work well together. SO I am NOT for the whole Rory-and-Dean thing. Thats my view anyway.

Also, I LOVE LAINE! She is the best character on this show! (After Lorelai, of course). She is such a good friend. Really. I think the Girl Talk they had was really good. And VERY not Rory. But I liked that scene. I think it was the best this show.

I'm not an expert on TV shows or anyhting. But I think this ones good. If anyone out there has any input, please comment. We need to build a readership! Well, theses things come in time, I suppose, but I like to know I'm not just talking to Erin here.

Tuesday, September 21, 2004

This is very good.

I am so excited about this!. While I don't have any good quotes from the season premier (as I haven't seen it yet) but I do have me, and I love Gilmore Girls.

Here is my Gilmore Girls History: I started watching in Season I-have-no-idea-which. My mom introduced me to it (appropriate, no?) adn I loved it right away! Any show with a Carole King song as its theme can't be all bad, know can it? (Carole King is a singer that is close to me and my mom. She's like, our thing). I also love the dialogue! Killer writing.

There was one problem... it's on at the same time as the West Wing! (Which I watch with my mom and dad). And our VCR was on the fritz... Luckily, we now have a new VCR! SO I can tape it the watch it! YES!

Anyone out there who likes Gilmore Girls, please comment. Comment about anything you see on the show. Hopefully, we can start a forum thingy in our comment area after posts! That would be good.

As a conversation starter for now, what was everyone's reactions to Rory sleeping with Dean in the season finale???!!!

This is good.

Yay! Gilmore Girls blog!
No boys allowed!

Our first episode to discuss will be "Say Goodbye to Daisy Miller."
My title is a quote from it 'cause I've seen it already, whereas everybody else is still watching. Hahahaha!

And, to begin this blog, the first lines of the pilot.
Lorelai: Please, Luke. Please, please, please.
Luke: How many have you had today?
Lorelai: None.
Luke: Plus?
Lorelai: Five. But yours is better.
Luke: Junkie.
Lorelai: Angel. You've got wings, baby.

Yes, you've got wings, baby!
And you've got Erin, too!